Sleepover update

The sleepover wasn’t good. My worst fears came true and she had an awful time. I picked her up at lunchtime and as soon as I saw her I knew. Then when we left the house she immediately burst into tears. I feel so helpless and wish I could make it all better for her, but I know that any intervention I make could completely backfire and make things ten times worse for her.

There surely is no worse feeling in the world than feeling like you’re failing your child. I just don’t know how to help her or what to advise her to do. I’ve tried to encourage her to be herself and not to change anything just to make other people like her. I don’t know why they’re so unkind and I don’t know if there’s anything she can do to stop it.

I spoke to my mum today, and my nan (we were visiting) and my aunt and it seems that all of us – that’s 3 generations of women in our family – had the same problem at school with other girls. Is this something that all girls have problems with? Or is it just history repeating itself? My nan said it’s because we are nice people who others find it easy to hurt. Why? It doesn’t make sense.

Will it be easier when she gets to senior school? It wasn’t for me. I keep telling her she’ll meet new girls who she’ll get on with better but I’m not sure that I truly believe it. And that’s two years away. Two more years of being stuck with the same 8 girls. Do I speak to the school? The parents? Or leave it? Aaah. It’s too hard.

Hoping a good nights sleep will make us both feel better.

Happy moment today:
Seeing my nan and hearing her chuckle of glee when I gave her the stick of rock she’d asked me to get her from Norfolk.

Leave a Reply

