The office

Day one at the office is complete! I have to say I really enjoyed it. It was nice to leave the house and go off to work – for the first time in about ten years. It was nice to have people to chat to and I think we were all as nervously excited as each other. It’s a new thing for all of us as we’ve all just been home based before so I think we are all looking forward to spending time together – some of us know each other better than others and the new lady knows nobody.

We’ve already started to highlight the potential benefits of working under one roof with regard to processes and queries and this will build as time goes on. But we’ve also been told that if we wake up and “can’t be arsed” to go into the office we can just email in that we’re working from home – no reasons, no excuses. Brilliant. Maybe my sneaky coffee meetings don’t need to become a thing of the past?

I know it’s only day 1 so I’m not going all evangelical about it just yet, but I definitely felt like I was less aware of time passing and definitely ate less! So that’s a good start. And I had things to talk about with K when he came home. When he cracked the “did you have a good day at the office, dear?” joke I was actually able to say “yes!” and mean it.

Leave a Reply

