Because I’m happy….

“Clap along if you feel like that’s what you wanna do……”

There is a song that is played over and over again on the radio in the office. It’s been in the charts (is it even called that any more?) for what seems like forever and it drives me mad (although I know there are worse songs that could be playing).

However, it seemed very appropriate this morning. I woke up at 6.50am. Unheard of. Normally it would be 4.30am then 5.30am or at latest 5.45am. Bloody marvellous. And I didn’t have “I’ve slept so heavily I feel worse” syndrome. Even more bloody marvellous. K kindly offered to get up with T so I was able to lay in bed for an extra half an hour. Could the day get any better?

Oh yes, you’d better believe it!

A woke up ON HER OWN ACCORD! None of the usual gentle nudging awake, followed by the yelling or the refusal to get up. She came into our bedroom smiling and saying “good morning!” in a very chipper fashion to be followed by “I feel really happy today!”. Wow. This is like some sort of dream. Am I dreaming? No, it really is happening – my daughter is awake and happy. T came upstairs from breakfast and gave me a lovely hug (nothing unusual here) and went off to get dressed without a care in the world – no gripes about death runs or maths tests. (He’s not a griper generally but when he does I always feel bad that I can’t solve the problem, simply because he wouldn’t be griping if it didn’t really bother him).

The day progressed quite nicely:-

A was still happy and chipper all the way to school. We were on time. No rushing.

I went into Harpenden on the way to work to post a parcel for K and found a parking space straight away – at 9.30am! In Harpenden!

(I arrived at work to find there were no spaces and none in the free village car park either but I was so relaxed I didn’t care! One soon came free so all was not lost.)

The atmosphere in the office has gone from stressed (project now completed and everyone excited about the new venture we are undertaking) to chilled out again. Everyone smiley and joking. Lovely.

Spoke to my lovely mate and she’s coming to stay for New Year! Hurrah!

So, yes Mr Pharell Williams, I do feel happy and I would very much like to clap along, thank you very much indeed. I’m even trying to be optimistic and stop myself from wondering when the payback will happen……

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

