Groucho 

Yes, Groucho. Not grouchy. Not grumpy. That’s not me anymore. No more moaning about emails, husbands (well, one husband) or lack of time. 

My “2 minutes a day to achieve 100 days of happiness” book has inspired me today. And it’s Groucho Marx’s turn this time. 

And I quote “Each morning when I open my eyes I say to myself: I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which it shall be. Yesterday is dead, tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet. I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it.” 

Now as much as I agree with this in principle, I do have some issues with this theory. Firstly, sometimes something really bloody horrible can happen during the course of a day that even the Dalai Lama would struggle to see the upside of. Secondly, thoughts of days gone by and days ahead can make us feel happy and get us through less pleasant times, so we should be able to look back or forward. 

But in general it’s not a bad idea and I decided to try it out. So I didn’t let myself get stressed out this morning whilst getting A off to school. I didn’t let being all hot and sticky on my return get to me, I just changed my top and shoes and cooled down. 

My car journey was filled with happy, upbeat songs and by the time I arrived at work I was properly smiling. 

I didn’t let the pressure of providing figures – now! – for the missing post get to me. * 

I kept calm and got on with my work. I had a bit of a chat and a laugh with the boss guys. I was able to leave early as they had a meeting to go to. I was able to make myself a cup of tea and enjoy it. 

I did get a bit worked up over a slight altercation with K (over something very silly) but I didn’t sulk and I didn’t drag it out of proportion. I refused to let it make me unhappy. 

I’ve managed to get some knitting done. I’ve had funny texts from friends that have made me smile and even a customer who I’d been dealing with yesterday emailed me to tell me a funny ending to our conversation. And it made me smile. 

So I think old Groucho has a point (to some degree) and we can choose to let things make us unhappy. And we can try and live more for now and not for next week. Although, I really can’t bloody wait for next week! 

* I later discovered the figures were slightly off so clearly I did let the pressure get to me slightly! 

Leave a Reply

