6 week challenge update

I have been doing the 6 week challenge for nearly 3 weeks. My third “weigh-in” will be on Monday but to date I have lost half a stone. I feel less bloated, less tight in my clothes and generally just less sluggish. It’s a great feeling.

I have not had an epiphany. I have always known what makes me put on weight and what I need to do to lose it, but I think (now I am truly in my forties, as opposed to pretending I am still in my thirties) I have realised that I need to just stop. Stop yo-yo’ing. Stop losing weight for an event and then putting it back on once that day or week has passed. Stop thinking that it doesn’t matter. I need to lose weight and keep it off for good. I don’t want to still be battling this little demon when I am in my fifties, sixties….

But let’s be realistic. I went on my first diet when I was 14. I am now 43. In the intervening 29 years I have lost, gained, lost gained some more, had 2 children, gained even more, lost some but never really lost it all.

I met my friend L last night for dinner. I have mentioned L before. She was my “big sister” figure when I started work and we have been friends ever since. She is the same height as me and we have always compared weight loss, gains, diets, since the beginning of our friendship. We do have other conversations but whenever we meet or talk on the phone her first question is always “what do you weigh?” Last night, we met for dinner as I said, and before I picked her up she texted to say “Joined weight watchers. It’s bad. I’m being really good”. I was relieved. We don’t meet often, and the last time was in the summer and we discussed how there are more important things in life than the size of your arse. True. But we do take things to the extreme and L won’t mind me saying that she has really gone to town with this mindset over the last 6 months and it has had a Big Impact. So, I was relieved that it wouldn’t be an evening of mutual encouragement to over-indulge. Instead, we got the show and tell over (she was right, it was bad) and discussed the good and bad options on the menu and chose sensibly and carefully. We had a lovely meal with tasty yet pretty virtuous food, and lots of laughs as usual. We talked about our weight loss goals and she was impressed with my ambition to try and return to my pre-T weight. She thought that where I am now is already pretty good going and said she would be happy with that. I reminded her that 20 years ago we would both have been horrified to be my current weight and she ruefully agreed.

But it got me thinking. Am I being unrealistic? I have never been skinny. I have never been totally happy with my size. I am never going to be a size 10 (I managed a 12 for a few months back in my early twenties) and have no desire to be thin – thin might age me too much! But I would like to try and be the healthiest weight I can be for my height and shape and age. (It would be quite nice to be able to wear a bikini on holiday next year…dream on…)

Three weeks to go for the challenge, and time will tell if my plans are overambitious. I won’t be stopping after the six weeks. I pledge now that I won’t go mad and blow it at Christmas. I am in this for the long haul and I hope that in six months time I won’t be starting all over again in a bid to be slim for our holiday (perhaps I should buy a bikini as incentive?).

Watch this space.

Leave a Reply

